Skip to content

How Treyarch Screwed Us

March 25, 2011

I’m an idiot. You know that, I don’t have to tell you. But you don’t know why I’m saying it. I’m here to tell you why. Ok, so I was really into the Call of Duty franchise (that makes me a nerd, not an idiot, we’re getting to the good part). I was 6th or 7th prestige on World at War (on the Wii, strangely enough (amazingly fun game despite how much people put it down)) and I got up to Level 70 10th Prestige with about 22 days of playing time on Modern Warfare 2 on the PC (please do not comment on this, I know it’s sad).

Needless to say, when Black Ops was announced I was exhilarated. I was wondering how long it’d take me to get to 10th prestige level 70 again, basically just assuming that I’d get what I expect. And trust me, I had high expectations. But everything I heard pointed toward Black Ops being the best thing to happen to me in my life ever. Tough to live up to? Not in my opinion at the time. Black Ops was going to be fantastic. Anyone in my position agreed. Especially on the PC (I didn’t have my Xbox 360 at the time). We were finally going to get dedicated servers. It looked like Treyarch was actually going to give a shit about the PC for once instead of just ignoring us and focusing on the Xbox 360 version.

Well, then the game came out. Sorry for generalizing, I’m sure some people with supercomputers will disagree with me, but on the PC it sucked. Minimum requirements were well within my range, but nope, 15 frames per second was good for me. For those of you who don’t know, 15 FPS is basically unplayable on a first person shooter. I don’t feel comfortable with under 30 or 40 at a minimum h0onestly.

What happened? Treyarch did four major things that screwed the PC community and really angered me. First of all, they coded wrong. Instead of making a PC game, they made an Xbox 360 game and hastily made a few changes and threw it on the PC to get some more money. I won’t get too technical, but the lazy coding essentially made the game rely on parts of the computer that it shouldn’t, therefore making the game slow. Secondly, more of a personal gripe than anything, instead of saying “We screwed up”, Treyarch blamed the user. “Black Ops doesn’t work on your computer? Get a better computer” was what was said over and over again on various message boards. Instead of blaming shoddy coding and a bad game, somehow I was to blame. The third thing was perhaps the most annoying: reliance on post-release patches. My Playstation 3 friends are probably with me on this one when I say how annoying it is. Instead of releasing a finished game, Treyarch released a half finished game to meet their holiday deadline and basically just decided to download and install updates over the internet as they finished writing the game. Essentially, they gave us a half-finished, half-playable game. Finally, they DRM’d the hell out of it. I got Black Ops for  the PC for Christmas and I got an Xbox 360 for Christmas. I wanted to exchange the PC version (which seriously sucks, as you can tell) for a generally good Xbox 360 version. The problem is Steam. I had to enter a product registration code to activate my game, and now that that code is in the disk is pretty much useless. I can never trade in, redeem my money, etc. And I’m sure as hell not shelling out another $60 to support Treyarch’s failure of a game.

Look, I had this awesome tie-in about how you can relate the timeline of Black Ops to Barack Obama, but seriously, you’re smart, fill in the blanks. I’m too pissed at Treyarch right now to talk about politics. Now excuse me, I have to go download Patch 1.07, run it, see that it didn’t fix anything, and never open the program again until next patch when I will proceed to do the same thing.

 

EDIT (Several Hours Later) – Guess what, everyone. That’s right, I just fixed Black Ops. As embarrassing as this is, go into C:/Program Files/Steam/steamapps/common/ and then right click BlackOpsMP.exe or something along those lines. I have Windows 7 so this may be different depending on what you have, but I went to Compatibility and then checked “Run in 640×480 Screen Resolution”. Graphics suck, but honestly I just wanted to play and now it’s playable and my kill/death ratio is now consistently above a 1.0. Don’t get me wrong, I’m pissed about the above, I shouldn’t have to resort to these kind of tactics, but at least I did it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aptronym permalink
    March 26, 2011 4:27 am

    It keeps eating my comments.

  2. Aptronym permalink
    March 26, 2011 4:28 am

    (Here we go.)

    Let me take you back to a time when games were simple. I’m sure you remember this, but your post made me think of it for some reason. Enjoy your fps. addictinggames.com/dontshootthepuppy.html

    P.S. Wait, fps = frames per second, and FPS = first-person shooter. Mind = blown.

Leave a Reply

