Skip to content

Cynicism

November 4, 2010

Yeah, we won, but what does it matter? I’m going to keep this thought going and try to stay nonexistential for as long as possible, but when it comes to the depressing part when I slip into existential territory I truly am sorry but it’s unavoidable.

 

So, yeah, we won. Yay. I guess it’s better than losing. Can we undo the damage that has happened? No, probably not. And I’m not talking about the last two years. Or four, for that matter. I mean, I guess I am, but with each thing that happens in my life I’m reminded of how fucked up America is. Between legislation I’m not a fan of and a broke judicial system and pretty much everything ever, we’re screwed. So is everyone else, but we are too. Sure, we can be happy now, all because we “won”, but what did we win, really? Two, maybe four years of a slightly better group of people ruling our lives? I promise you that you won’t feel the effects of whatever happens politically in the next two years. You’re still going to wake up, go to work or school, come home, eat, go to bed. Sure, the economy might effect that, but I’m not blaming that on the people in power in the past two years. Or the past for years. And there’s nothing that the next group of people can do to fix it in a large way.

 

Sure, we won. But the benefit just isn’t there. I’m happy, I guess. I don’t know. But it’s not like it matters. We’re all going to die in the end anyways. =)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

