Skip to content

All Politics is Local?

September 28, 2010

I was taught to have a clear thesis before I begin to write, however, I don’t know how I feel on this issue so here goes:

I was looking up candidates for my County Executive race (as one does) when I noticed something weird. Both major party candidates have very impressive resumes, but their resumes focus on other states.

Current County Exec John R. Leopold was a State Representative and State Senator in Hawaii as well as other positions. Democratic challenger Joanna Conti’s political experience comes from Colorado where she mounted a campaign against Tom Tancredo. More recently she was a fellow at Georgetown’s highly prestigious School of Foreign Service.

So, what’s my point? Both candidates are extremely qualified and I don’t know  for whom I’m going to vote (There is also an attractive candidate named Mike Shay from the Green Party but lets get real, it’s the Green Party) but I think its weird that neither person is really from my area.

I am away from where I grew up for the first time in my life and I am just beginning to appreciate what a special and unique place Anne Arundel county is (corny but true). Now Leopold has lived here for a while and Conti grew up on the Bay, but there is something unsettling about the fact that they are both transplants.

One final point to completely work against my main point, sometimes it’s good to get someone who knows what to do even if it’s an outside hire. It makes a lot of rational sense to elect or “hire” a county executive who has a lifetime in civil service, like Leopold, or experience running a multi-million-dollar real estate education company, like Conti.

I am torn on this issue and on this election. Here are their campaign sites, decide for yourself:

http://www.joannaconti.com/

http://www.johnrleopold.com/

http://electmikeshay.com/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

