Skip to content

Ehrlich Visits Salisbury University

September 18, 2010

Just a quick recap on yesterday. Got to meet (hopefully future, definitely past) Governor Ehrlich. I volunteered at one of the tables signing people up for College Republicans, registering people to vote, and handing out absentee ballot forms. Sadly, they ran out of really cool Ehrlich t-shirts. He gave his speech, basically telling us to keep doing what we’re doing, help him out, that sort of thing. I forget the details, but it was actually quite a good speech in my opinion, it felt more like a graduation speech than a campaign address. Kind of cool, not what I expected. I shook his hand and got a bunch of pictures taken with him (I’ve only been able to find one so far), he seemed really nice in person. I’m sure he has to because he’s campaigning, but still, mildly self deprecating in a humorous way surprisingly, and genuinely happy to see us volunteering for him. I don’t know how much of this was a show and how much of it was just what politicians do, but he’s either faking well enough that I don’t know he’s faking or he’s genuinely pretty awesome, and either way you still receive the same end result. The one main thing that really stuck out in his speech was that he called himself a “libertarian leaning Republican”, which I really identify with. Oh, and I almost took one of those huge Ehrlich signs as big as me. Someone in the government of the club said I could have one if I wanted, but sadly I have a feeling that the sign would be bigger than my dorm room. I guess I’ll just have to stick with the bumper sticker and the aptly logo’d College Republicans bottle opener.

I'm in the blue polo.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

