Skip to content

The Military Industrial Complex

September 7, 2010

This might be more for my benefit than yours, but I’ve decided to riff on the military industrial complex and how much of an effect the president can have on it just to get my thoughts straight on the issue. I think the best place to start is probably Obama coming into office. How drastically did foreign policy change militarily? Short answer from my perspective – not much. There were some things with nuclear silos with Russia he did a while back. When it comes to Afghanistan and Iraq, what did he do? I don’t think he did too much. Obviously I’m not qualified to say too much on this issue, as I am with most things I write about, but I think overall the objectives remained the same. Sure, he may have gotten a few troop reductions or something, but who was really controlling the military? I’m going to guess that the military took charge of that and Obama basically tried to change public opinion so that the military would have no choice but to listen to what he had to say.

Where my opinion differs is that I don’t think that that’s a bad thing. I sort of like the military industrial complex. The people in charge clearly know what they’re doing better than anyone else in the world. While I agree that there needs to be some oversight, hence the hated but necessary free press and various other governmental oversight…things, I feel like the military industrial complex does a better job with war than a president or legislative body would. Why? People are stupid. I could stem off of that last statement in four different ways (I’ve actually counted them in my head), but I’m just going to leave it at that. People are stupid.

Last thing is a proclamation – if the military industrial complex truly has as much control as I think that they do, I’m not going to choose my candidates based on foreign policy militarily. Sure, I can choose based upon peace talks in Iran and that sort of foreign policy bullshit, but when it comes to the military I think that the power of the president is greatly exaggerated and is completely negligible regardless of political party. Of course I’m still going to vote the way I normally vote, but the military from here on out is not a policy decision in presidential elections that is important to me anymore. The Pentagon already has that covered.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aptronym permalink
    September 7, 2010 12:20 pm

    Just keep in mind that there’s a difference between having no power and having nothing to do with it. Is there any alternative to what the military’s currently doing in Iraq and Afghanistan that would look drastically different? If there’s no other course of action, there’s nothing for Obama to take control and do; all he can manage are minor course corrections and political bluster.

Leave a Reply

