Skip to content

Imam Obama…The Closet Christian?

August 21, 2010

You know how I generally like to go conservative on issues? Well, every once in a while I think stuff that Republicans wouldn’t like. There’s issues like drugs and religion and some of my more libertarian viewpoints that separate me from the mainstream Republican party. Basically, the whole “values” thing that they have going makes me dislike them. Well, this is one of those posts that goes against them. I don’t know if I’m exactly agreeing with Deomocrats on this one, but I’m definitely closer to the DNC than the RNC. Libertarian I guess. Whatever. You get my point. I’m also about to do something that I don’t normally do – agree with Obama.

Obama’s religion. Apparently people think he’s Muslim. Which is hilarious. I don’t even care if it’s true. Well, I sort of do, just because it’d be an easy post to write, but a lot of people think he really is. Probably the same people who think he’s from Kenya. Think something that James Adomian’s impression of Jesse Ventura would say (no one got that reference. It’s ok, not all of this blog is for you readers. Sometimes I have to write something just for me). But yeah, if this news story is correct (I’m going to assume that it is for the remainder of this article, whether it is or not) he’s a closet Christian who just isn’t saying anything or going to services regularly.

Obama – if this is true – I just gained a little respect for you. You’re not exploiting religion for political gain despite what you really believe. Personally I’m not religious, but if the guy is, he sees these Muslims stories, and views it as a non-issue then that’s awesome. Truly. It’s a step in the right direction in my mind. I hate how religion has become a major issue in politics. I concentrate how candidates stand on the issues, not their charisma or their religion. And yes, religion can impact policy decisions, but generally negatively in my opinion. In the end, I don’t care. I just like a secular state.

If this story isn’t true and he’s an agnostic (which I believe is the case, not that I care one way or the other) at least he’s not faking it completely and going over the top. Either way, he’s keeping it out of the public eye, as religion should be. Which is perfect. In a perfect world, the word “religion” would never even come up in politics.

If this story REALLY isn’t true and he’s a Muslim, I can’t wait for the slew of Obama Muslim jokes in the future. And I’m serious about that. On a personal level I wouldn’t be outraged, just excited at the comedy aspect.

And, finally, now that even more media attention is being given to his religion, he might come out and act overly Christian. Which would be a mistake. Come on, Obama, I finally like you on an issue, don’t screw it up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

