Skip to content

Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog: The Sequel

August 17, 2010

Hey, so I was going through one of the forums of Node (Nerdist discussion board, I’d link but it’s still in beta phase and there aren’t any more invites out that I’m aware of) and I came across something mentioning Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog. So I went into what I do on occasion – a Google search to update myself on the progress of the sequel. And apparently I hadn’t done this in a while.

Before I go too deep into this, let me explain what Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog is to you idiots who don’t know what it is and who have missed the best thing ever created for about two years now. Here’s the link. Go watch it. Now. It’s in six parts, click on each part when the first video finishes. If you don’t know what this is and don’t click on this link and dedicate 45 minutes of your life to a life-changing experience then seriously, I hate you, leave this blog, you’re not worthy. Funniest, drama-ist, awesomeness thing ever.

Ok, back to my rant and my made up reason for posting this on a political blog. As I’m Google searching the sequel I come across pages and pages of Neil Patrick Harris (my mancrush (I’m straight, just sayin’)) saying that the sequel is going to be a major motion picture. That link wasn’t a good example of what I’m talking about, but still, trust me on this.

So, I’m angry. Very angry. Angry enough to post about this on a blog where it’s really out of place. That’s how angry I am. Why? Three reasons. Firstly, this was so good because it wasn’t a major motion picture. It released in several parts, only online, and spread across the web by word of mouth (or word of typing, whatever). It didn’t have a big budget, which was good. It focused on storyline, dialog, and music. It didn’t have major special effects to take away the focus on the aforementioned things, and it didn’t have a bunch of executives trying to screw it up. It came straight from Joss Whedon’s brain onto the camera.

Secondly, I don’t want a sequel. I was angry at the sequel before I even knew that it might be a major film. Why? Because I have the feeling that the sequel is going to suck and it’ll take away from the first film and disappoint me and make me even more pissed. The first one is perfect. Expanding on that would be a mistake, because you can’t make something that’s perfect any better. I might be biased though. This is coming from the person who snagged http://www.facebook.com/CaptHammer and operates as CaptHammer on Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. Also, various message boards, AIM screennames, everything. I even have this image as my laptop background. I’m sort of obsessed, and I’m scared at anything that could screw this up for me.

Thirdly, I like how this is sort of a cult thing. Very few people know about this. Mostly the nerd community. To be selfish for a minute, being a part of this cult is awesome. It’s like I share a secret with a select group of people. An awesome secret.

And, finally, the small paragraph on politics so I don’t feel bad for posting a nerdrage post on a political blog. Obama seems to be all for controlling stuff and having his way with things. Congress seems that way too. Generally this makes me angry at them, but I feel like this time it could help. I’m going to say this now and I’m serious – if the Democrats stop this from happening, I’ll support even the craziest ones of them with my votes. We need to start a nerdcampaign. This shouldn’t happen, and it needs to be stopped.

(P.S. – God, if you’re listening, that whole last paragraph doesn’t just have to apply to Presidents and stuff. If you hit the cast with a freeze ray from the heavens or something and stop production of the movie then I’ll believe in you.

Thanks,

-Josh S.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

