Skip to content

My Glorious Return

July 29, 2010

Ok, I’m home. I hope you guys survived without me.

I came to a realization upon my glorious return. It turns out that, even when I’m so far out of cell phone reception and I have to wave my arms around like a crazy person just to send out a text, or when my attempts to program a Greasemonkey script so that I can have free wifi (questionably legal) access fail, my absence from society does nothing to stop the news from happening. Even though I leave and am pretty much unreachable, things still happen.

I know this may sound like a stupid realization. “Yeah, Josh, the world doesn’t revolve around you.” And I wholeheartedly agree with you, it is a rather stupid realization. To prove that point, this realization is so stupid that, as I’m writing this sentence, I still have no idea the point I’m trying to make (I’ll figure it out eventually though, I always do). What I’m trying to say is that even though I had no access to any form of communication, there was still a major ethics violation, some stuff happened with BP I think, and maybe some more stuff.

(Note – at this point in this post I finally realized where I was going with this)

I guess what I’m trying to get across is that everything really needs to be put in perspective. Things happened that I would have been angry about, excited about, *insert emotion here* about. I let them effect my life in ways that they shouldn’t. I know that sometimes I can be obsessive, and especially as a child of the Information Era I always have to know everything that’s happening all the time. I don’t know where I’d be without Yoono. I have so many tabs open in Firefox right now that quite frankly it scares me how dependent I am on my information outlets, whether it’s Facebook or USPS package tracking or, the worst so far, WordPress blog stats. So, am I going to stop refreshing my web pages obsessively? No. Am I going to unfollow @USABreakingNews on Twitter? Hell no. But it’s times like a vacation where I realize that the world keeps going on around me even when I’m not refreshing my tabs every couple minutes, and if I miss a news story, a Tweet, or a Status Update I think I can live through it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 2:12 am

    Can anyone tell me if there is a good dating site for Herpes Dating for people living with herpes? John Bear

    I normally delete spam, but this one was so good that I decided to let it slip through the spam filter. -Neoconservatarian

Leave a Reply

