Skip to content

Tron: Politics

July 24, 2010

I was really bored so I went to 5 Below today. I had to go dorm shopping and this seemed as good of a time as any. I picked up some boring stuff, but then I got to the posters. They had a Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 poster that was pretty cool, but I don’t get the point of getting it. It won’t benefit me in any way. It certainly won’t help me get girls. So I passed on that one. Then I saw one for Tron. I’m a big Chuck fan, and basically that poster may as well play the role as a minor character in the show. It’s a big deal. I knew that it vaguely had to do with programming, but I didn’t want to get the poster because I hadn’t seen the movie. So I came home and found a link and saw it. It was amazing. I plan on picking up the poster ASAP. I can understand that it’s not for everyone, the universal appeal is rather lacking, however something like that is definitely geared toward people like me.

That got me thinking. What if there was a way to go inside the political process? Tron examines the personification of computer components, what if we could somehow personify the politics? We already sort of had that idea with the “I’m just a bill” Schoolhouse Rock song, but I mean really go into the process. A “user” (aka Congressman) gets sucked in somehow and is exposed to the real workings of politics. Lobbyists flying around in cars with laser guns fighting each other. Your health is judged by the amount of money in your suit. Likability (an arbitrary number) counts as currency. Weird political alliance systems determine how you move about the political landscape. The stock market is replaced by the public opinion market. The term “political suicide” is taken a bit more literally.

I don’t know about you, but I’d watch that movie. And buy the poster.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aptronym permalink
    July 24, 2010 11:20 pm

    You realize that, as a computer geek, it is now your duty to make such a game?

Leave a Reply

