Skip to content

Mob Mentality of Baseball Fans and Political Parties

June 24, 2010

I figured out why I don’t like political parties tonight/last night/whatever you want to call it. I went to a baseball game. It was fun, I should have had some friends come so it wasn’t just me and the family, but still, fun. A crazy thing happens at a baseball game, however – mob mentality. The wave. The seventh inning stretch. The guy with the video camera on the giant TV thing always trying to get people to dance or be more spirited or kiss someone. The overwhelming desire to clap at the sounds an organ makes. These are the sort of things that no one would ever do just sitting at home alone. How stupid would that be? One person wave? How about you just get up off your sofa in your empty apartment one night and start dancing? These are the sort of things you only do because everyone else is doing it too, you think it’ll be fun to do in that sort of a setting, and it’s encouraged based on the similar thoughts of everyone around you.

I, on the other hand, hate fun. I don’t care whether or not “we will rock them”. I don’t know what we’re “CHARGEEEEE!!!!!!!!!”ing at, and quite frankly unless it’s some sort of a Bastille or medieval castle that somehow sprouted up in the middle of center field I feel as if the term might be a little outdated. I just sort of sit there and marvel at all of the idiots around me, which leads to my beliefs on political parties; mob mentality on things that are actually important is stupid. I don’t know how many people there are in America, I’m assuming that there’s a lot, but I can tell you this; they don’t all fit under two political parties if you look at their individual ideologies. Lumping everyone in either Republican or Democrat is stupid. An individual is an individual with their own beliefs, they don’t have to just make a proclamation for what team they’re rooting for and then blindly follow that team even if they have conflicting views with what they’re doing. Yeah, I’m Republican, but that’s just because I want to vote in the primaries for the party I’m 90% affiliated with. I recognize that my beliefs are different than most of the Republicans, but in the end that just means I’m an individual and not just a mindless drone for either party. If you don’t understand what you truly believe, in the process completely blocking out whatever bias you may have due to your previous party affiliation, you’re not only screwing over yourself but also every other American who has to suffer due to your uninformed and unqualified votes and opinions.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aptronym permalink
    June 24, 2010 3:23 pm

    “Charge!” is quite obviously a celebration of electricity and the modern age.

Leave a Reply

