Skip to content

World Cup Update

June 23, 2010

We beat Algeria I think. I don’t know, I was busy and only say the first and middle part of the game, but there was one thing about the games that I’ve seen that makes me feel good about America – look on the sidelines, it’s nothing but ads for American companies in English. In the end it doesn’t matter who wins the World Cup, America has won the world domination war. What’s more important? A soccer trophy or world domination? Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad we won, but who cares if Algeria would have won today. How many ads for Algerian companies are there 0n the sidelines? In Algerian, or whatever language they speak? I think France occupied them for a while so probably French if I had to guess. Or maybe Italian. I don’t know, and I don’t care. But I bet if you asked an Algerian what language Americans spoke they’d say English (maybe Spanish, but regardless they at least sort of have an idea). And I bet if you asked an Algerian who the US president is they’d know it was Obama. They’d probably get a big smile as they said it too, which just means we have to red card them in their soccer loving faces even harder. I bet at least 95% of people can’t name the Algerian leader. I bet 75% of people don’t even know if they have a president, prime minister, sultan, chief, or El Jefe. I know I can’t answer either of those questions. I don’t think that that makes me uninformed either, I doubt an Algerian could tell you the leaders of countries as equally terrible as them (if they are in fact terrible, I don’t know whether they are or not). America has respect and is universally accepted as pretty damn powerful. If this was a game of king of the hill, we won. For now. And that makes me feel pretty good. When the McDonalds ads at the World Cup are in Mandarin Chinese I know we might have a problem.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

