Skip to content

Rule 1: Don’t Talk About The Neoconservatarian

June 13, 2010

I just watched Fight Club today for the first time ever. Don’t worry, I’m not going to spoil it if you haven’t seen it. All I’m going to say about it is that if you look in the dictionary for the word “Mindfuck” the definition will be “Fight Club”.

Driving home I sort of had an existentialist breakdown, however (thank you, Fight Club (sarcasm)). But I mean whatever, they come and go with me, it’s not a big deal. In the middle of this I realized what I am; I’m a terrified existentialist. I recognize that if I were to let go of the wheel and slam the accelerator physics would kick in and, in the end, it probably doesn’t matter what happens to me from an overall perspective. I’m nothing but a statistic in a world that, in general, doesn’t care. Sure, the people I know would be sad, but does that matter either? I mean really, what really matters?

I recognize this and yet my hands never leave the steering wheel. Hypocritical? Maybe. All I know is that existentially I kind of like my own little world that I live in. Do I matter? Does anything matter? Not in my opinion. Not at all. And yet something about watching a movie like Fight Club makes it worthwhile. I guess I have a fear of the unknown. Who knows. All I know is that the known, while it may have its downsides, also includes the joys of driving a stick shift and blowing a 7.62 mm round through a paper target, and I guess that’s good enough for me. And if this isn’t an adequate enough review for the movie Fight Club to get you to watch it if you haven’t already, I don’t know what is.

Who needs therapy when you have a blog? On an unrelated note, follow me on Twitter (@nconservatarian) for information on an upcoming exciting violence/stress relieving opportunity. You’d have to be completely 100% mentally insane in order to not want to take me up on this offer. I might not say anything about it in future tweets, however, because the first rule about the fight club is that you don’t talk about the fight club. Not that that joke was worn out two weeks after the film was released or anything. Cut me some slack, I just saw it today.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aptronym permalink
    June 14, 2010 8:03 pm

    It happens. Don’t worry about it. Just don’t kill yourself in a fit of nihilistic despair. Wanting to stay alive doesn’t make you a hypocrite any more than believing in heaven requires that you go there right now. (Yes, I’m glossing over religious/moral taboos against suicide, but hopefully you get the point.) Just because something is meaningless in a cosmic sense doesn’t mean it has to be meaningless to you.

Leave a Reply

