Skip to content

Call of Duty, My Psychological Problem, and Racism

May 29, 2010

As previously stated, I enjoy Call of Duty. I like it way too much. Believe it or not, it has begun to permeate my life in ways that it shouldn’t. For example, I was watching my Kindergarten sister’s lacrosse game and I heard a noise overhead. I glanced up into the sky and I saw the outline of a plane above me. All I heard was the low rumble of the jets, and for about a second I thought something along the lines of, “Oh shit, a stealth bomber”. I then proceeded to feel the feeling of helplessness and inevitability you feel right before you’re killed by a stealth bomber in Call of Duty.

I was pacing at home the other night in my dark kitchen waiting for my soup to heat up in the microwave when I saw something out of the corner of my eye. It was a red line of light coming from the other room. I immediately stopped and physically took a step back; I figured that what was in front of me was the bright red laser line that usually designated a claymore in Call of Duty. Turns out it was just a small opening in the box that we keep our turtle in. The turtle has a red heat lamp.

I was driving somewhere the other day when I glanced up in the sky and saw an airplane flying behind some trees a long ways away. I thought nothing of it; it must just be a UAV drone providing radar to the enemy. Not a big deal.

So, I guess I have PTSD from Call of Duty. That might be a serious problem, however it’s not the subject of this post. The subject of this post is – you guessed it – racism. You’re probably asking yourself how this has anything to do with racism. Let’s find out.

Racism is like the Call of Duty false alarms that I experience at a frequency that should alarm any mental health professional. A normal person goes through the world seeing the things that I see as heat lamps and airplanes, however I tend to walk through and see everyday occurrences as imminent threats to my virtual life. This is like racism because someone who doesn’t expect racism probably isn’t going to find it unless it’s blatant, however someone who is actively trained to find it is going to find racism in places that it just doesn’t exist. I’m sorry if I’m the first person to ever tell you this if you haven’t heard it yet, but some of the human beings out there are just bad people. To everyone. If someone is mean to me or something I just think that they’re a mean person, however to someone who is expecting racism they’re going to interpret what the guy is saying as racist. The difference between my Call of Duty obsession and believing everyone is a racist, however, is that after about a second or two of panic I realize that the stealth bomber is actually a 747 and it poses no threat to me. People who seek out racism in places where it isn’t intended, however, are never smart enough to realize that “racism” is sometimes just someone being a dick to everyone in general without discrimination. They keep going through life thinking that more and more people are racist until they think it’s a major problem in society which leads to hostile claims of racism at people who don’t deserve it at all which in turn hurts society and their legitimacy in the long run. I’m as against racism as the next guy, but people who actively make claims that people are racist need to pick their battles and be sure that the claims are accurate if they want to be taken seriously. I’m not saying there’s not racists out there, every once in a while I’m sure a real claymore goes off somewhere, but I’m sure that most of the people that are accused of racism are actually not racists.

If you want to find some real racists though just turn on the chat function in Call of Duty.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aptronym permalink
    May 30, 2010 2:17 am

    I’d suggest that false accusations of racism aren’t always limited to all-around jerks. Unfortunately, some people demand preferred treatment for those they see as victims, whether or not any bias is present. Guilt is used to spread the ideology, and soon more people are jumping at false claymores. The fight shifts from stopping those who express racism to stopping those who don’t express the proper guilt. Which is a shame, because then racism doesn’t die. Instead of finding the few remaining claymores and disposing of them safely, everybody is jumping at turtle lamps. And the problem gets worse from the misperception.

    (For the record, I abhor racism in any form, which is why I despise knee-jerk accusations of it. It conflates true racism with equality, and establishes a skewed ideal of social justice.)

Leave a Reply

