Skip to content

The Blue Angels

May 26, 2010

Today is the day that I get to experience the single greatest waste of taxpayer dollars –

the Blue Angels. Nothing is quite as awesome as the US government clearing away most of the bureaucracy and putting on a show for the regular people out there. People will literally get in fighter planes and fly around in the skies of downtown Annapolis in ways that would kill the average European just to prove how awesome America really is. I don’t care if it’s a “marketing tool” or “recruiting” or something like that; things like the Blue Angels and flyovers at NASCAR races and such are things I want my taxpayer dollars spent on even if they don’t benefit the government in any way whatsoever.

I realize that this is hypocritical. I’m supposed to be for small government, no wasted penny, libertarian viewpoints, etc. What you fail to realize, however, is that I like things that are awesome. I like airplanes that fly fast and do what I like to call “defy gravity”. I like it when things blow up. I even like the space program, not because I think that it could benefit us in some way as a country but because I think it’s awesome. THESE are the things I want us to spend our wasted money on. And yes, I realize that this kind of stuff is mostly complete government waste. I’m sure that there’s arguments that can be made about why these sort of things are essential to the continued success of America. I don’t care. I don’t like these programs because of that. I like them because of the aforementioned reasons – I like things that are awesome. I like that America is willing to spend money on this sort of stuff.  I kind of want to end government handouts completely and allocate all of that money to things that blow stuff up either for show or for real situations. Does that make me a bad person?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aptronym permalink
    May 28, 2010 6:24 pm

    I’m not sure you actually need to play the awesome card here. You can just argue on scale. How much does it cost on average for the Blue Angels to make an appearance? Then compare that figure to [government program of choice] or [annual fraud/corruption/inefficiency loss figure of choice] and you have an argument. You could also say that it’s the Navy’s business and thus a matter of military concern, if you feel like shifting the responsibility around. Just saying.

Leave a Reply

