Skip to content

Who Is Rand Paul?

May 21, 2010

I’m tired of going through the political news outlets and seeing that “Rand Paul” guy and knowing nothing about him other than that the Tea Party seems to like him, he has a stupid name, and that people think he’s racist. So, mostly for my own benefit, I’m going to come to an official Neoconservatarian conclusion on this guy by the end of this article.

First of all, here’s the exact “racist” quote, word for word.

Maddow: Do you think that a private business has a right to say that ‘We don’t serve black people?’

Paul: I’m not in favor of any discrimination of any form. I would never belong to any club that excluded anybody for race. We still do have private clubs in America that can discriminate based on race.

But I think what’s important in this debate is not getting into any specific “gotcha” on this, but asking the question ‘What about freedom of speech?’ Should we limit speech from people we find abhorrent. Should we limit racists from speaking. I don’t want to be associated with those people, but I also don’t want to limit their speech in any way in the sense that we tolerate boorish and uncivilized behavior because that’s one of the things that freedom requires is that we allow people to be boorish and uncivilized, but that doesn’t mean we approve of it…

I think he’s stupid for saying it. I also completely agree with what he’s saying. You can’t say that sort of thing to the press though without expecting them to run with it. Regardless, I like the point that he’s failing at getting across. That’s the kind of thing you say in private, though, not in this sort of a political environment. I’d rather he gets called a racist now than when it matters. I’ll chalk that one up to inexperience. I hope he learns something from this.

I just googled “Rand Paul Political Beliefs”. Out of the 17 results on the front page,  15 were articles calling him a racist. The other ones were Wikipedia (which probably calls him a racist in there somewhere, I mean come on, it’s Wikipedia) and some website called randpaulsstrangeideas.com that wouldn’t load (which, by the website name, almost certainly calls him a racist). So, I guess I’m relying on Wikipedia. It’s by far the most impartial source out there, which is sad.

So he got his M.D. from Duke. I’m not a fan of Duke. That’s one strike against him.

I’m just going to copy paste the Wikipedia Political Views section. I’ll “…” out the boring parts.

Paul is a critic of the Federal Reserve,[59] the USA PATRIOT Act,[25] the federal government‘s bailout of Wall Street, and the erosion of civil liberties.[60] He supports significantly smaller government and balanced budgets, and opposes the Department of Education, the war in Iraq,[61] and the federal income tax.[26] He encourages legislators to pledge not to raise taxes… He is also supportive of term limits for politicians, a balanced budget amendment, and establishing the Read the Bills Act.[28]

Paul has…criticized the Americans with Disabilities Act, characterizing it as an overreach of the federal government.[66] He opposes same-sex marriage,[67] he is opposed to abortion without exception, and he supports a constitutional amendment to completely ban abortion.[68][69]

Ok, so my take on this guy is that I’d prefer his extreme to the extreme of the far right wing religious sect of conservatism. That doesn’t mean that I like him. He gives off too much of a Ron Paul vibe. It’s almost like they’re related or something. Yeah, libertarian is good, and small government is good, but at a certain point the government has to step in and do something (even if that something is kick some Iraqi ass).

I REALLY don’t want to support this guy. I’m running out of options though. The Republicans need a good candidate, and this guy isn’t it. But I’d take him over anyone else they’d ever willingly put up for nomination for President (cough SARAH PALIN). I don’t know. I predict an Obama-like rise with this guy, I foresee him being what Bobby Jindal should have been before his hilariously awful Republican response speech. So please, Rand, make me like you. Earn it. And, while you’re at it, change your name. Wikipedia tells me that you have expressly stated that your father didn’t name you after Ayn Rand, and that sort of took all the fun out of it for me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. QuestionAsker permalink
    May 21, 2010 10:19 pm

    Dear NeoConservatarian,

    Long time reader, first time asker: I was wondering what you thought of the Tea Party movement?

    -Confused

Leave a Reply

