Skip to content

The Next Drug to Go

May 19, 2010

I don’t do drugs. With one notable exception that we’ll talk about later. I just want to go into a little background first. I’m for the legalization of everything. I go WAY libertarian on this one. The only difference between me and a crazy Ron Paul supporter when talking about the legalization of drugs is that I don’t make it the entire platform of the party. I don’t care whether you want to do pot, heroin, LSD, or some weird thing your friend made by combining rice and fire ants in a blender (Disclaimer – I’m pretty sure that’s not a thing). It’s not my place to take your potentially strange ways away from you, and it’s not the government’s place to do so either. If you choose to do that, more power to you. I could really care less. Hell, if we tax it we could actually get some money out of it. And God knows California could use some of that.

This brings me to my drug – caffeine. I love it. I live off of it. Without it I’m not sure I could survive. It’s a chemical compound that I don’t know that I could live without. It is the main cause of most of the moods I’m in, and I know that without it I’ve certainly at the very least annoyed a few people. So yeah, it’s a drug. My prediction for the future, however, is that this can go either way.

1st scenario – Drugs are legalized. Pot is the first to go, first under medical licenses. Then people will finally realize that medical licenses are nothing but excuses for people with no legitimate problems to get pot. Getting the license is therefore nothing but a formality. Pot will become legal. They’ll tax the hell out of it, but it’ll slowly become accepted into mainstream society. Maybe it’ll be looked down on like smoking is now, but it won’t be a big deal anymore. The other drugs will slowly follow. Call it soma if you will, but that’s scenario one.

2nd scenario – We go t’other way with it. Drugs go the way of smoking. There’s always going to be a few who do it, but it’s pretty ingrained in our minds that smoking is bad (at least in my generation). It’s very reverse Brave New World, but the example of smoking has shown that it’s not too hard to change the entire psyche of the country on issues like this. Not that I’m advocating smoking. In fact, I think the opposite. I’m just saying that it’s scary that national opinion on an issue like that can change that quickly and that dramatically. Drugs could be the next to go. All it takes is a couple billboards, a few 40 year old videos in elementary/middle school health classes, and some losers with nothing better to do than stand somewhere and hand out pamphlets.

Who knows what will happen. I wonder though in 200 years whether or not people will be looking back at the year 2010 and wonder how we could possibly put the crap that is caffeine into our system. Luckily, though, the year is 2010 and not 2210, and I need my caffeine to survive. But I’m just saying, maybe caffeine is the next to go. They did away with smoking, which was pretty accepted 200 years ago; maybe coffee is going to be the smoking of 2210. So, let’s legalize everything and play out the first scenario. It’s not going to impact me if the government decides Americans can take whatever drug they damn well please, but just the thought that the government can tell us that we’re not allowed to do drugs if we’re inclined to is insulting. I’m not a Ron Paul supporter, because the guy is pretty much crazy, but at least he has something right.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Peter Reynolds permalink
    May 20, 2010 4:56 am

    I do caffeine too, every day. I did cocaine for a long time too and that did me no good at all but God’s Herb, cannabis or marijuana is the one. Your dismissal of its medicinal uses just flies in the face of the facts. You should check out the very recent discovery of the endocannabinoid system and when you realise that cannabis is the only natural source of these compounds that are now thought to be fundamental to life, well then you’ll realise why I call it God’s Herb, why mankind has used it for over 4,000 years and why it really is an almost magical plant.

    Yes I am a hippy – still. Or call me a right wing libertarian if you will. Check out the Transform Drug Policy Foundation – http://www.tdpf.org.uk – for the most leading edge thinking on the subject.

    You’re privileged in the States to have the excellent pressure group, Marijuana Policy Project – http://www.mpp.org – which is making great strides towards legalisation. Here in the UK, with our recent change of government, things are changing too:

    http://peterreynolds.wordpress.com/2010/05/15/eenie-meanie-minie-mo-drugs-policy-thatll-be-lib-dem/

    • PantAndAHardShoe permalink
      May 21, 2010 9:12 am

      Speaking of the UK, Winston Churchill (ever heard of him) once said,”It has been said that democracy is the worst form of government except all those other forms that have been tried from time to time”

      I think you get what I’m saying hippy.

  2. TheFoil permalink
    May 24, 2010 7:59 pm

    I’m all for having the right to do whatever to yourself. If you want to smoke pot, fine go ahead. Pot isn’t that addictive. I’m for legalizing pot. However, Heroin, Crystal Meth, that’s a different story. I do not think that people have the right to harm others. Addictive drugs not only harm the users, but they harm others. Often drug addict will harm others, through stealing or killing. When you are addicted to drugs, it is difficult to control yourself. There is no way that you can ensure that any harm caused by a drug is only directed at the user. Others will get hurt. Therefore, I am for keeping them illegal, to try to prevent harm done to others. The tax dollars the government would gain aren’t worth the robberies and deaths associated with legalizing all drugs.

    • May 24, 2010 8:39 pm

      I agree, to a degree. The only difference between our opinions is the line that we draw between when personal liberties are given up for the general welfare. I don’t have incredibly strong feelings on this issue actually, I might actually agree with you.

    • Peter Reynolds permalink
      May 25, 2010 3:12 am

      I understand your emotional response to the idea of legalising hard drugs. However the facts prove that prohibition doesn’t work. It is the illegality of drugs that causes most problems, not the drugs themselves. If you legalise, regulate and tax you remove the need for robbery and crime to fund a habit and you raise the revenue to treat the problem as a public health issue instead of the bottomless pit of a hopeless moral crusade. It’s about reducing the harm that drugs cause.

Leave a Reply

